Polyphasic Sleep Day Three: On winter and failure

If there’s one thing to be learnt from this, if there’s one lesson that I think could possibly be of relevance to anyone else who decided to attempt this in the same way I am, I think it might be this:

Do not idly lie in bed.

Now, I don’t know about all you American types, but we Australians like to have our winters in the middle of the year. And as you may be aware, it is pretty much smack-bang in the middle of the year at the moment. As a result, it is cold at night. And, unfortunately, I do not have control of the heating in my environment.

The long and short of it all is that I slept for an undetermined amount of time due to my decision to stay in bed, instead of braving the cold in a chair. As I believe the sleep was long enough to get a fairly normal amount of REM sleep in, it has essentially negated the past two days “progress”, if you wanted to call it that. So I’m going to take a short break, give myself a good twenty-four hours to rest and recuperate, and then start over.

It’s disappointing, but I guess this stuff happens. Oh well – That which does not kill you, eh?

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

