Polyphasic Attempt One Point One, Day One: Of chicken and planned absences

Once again, the first day draws to a close, and as before there’s nothing of particular note or interest that would be unusual if someone decided to skip sleep for a day. Obviously I’m experiencing some level of fatigue, but it’s not too bad, nor exactly unexpected.

The one thing that could possibly be of note, though I’m not sure exactly how related it is to this, was that I was awoken half-way through my 1930 nap by the smell of marinated chicken.I guess that’s a good indicator that I haven’t got far in this yet. I’m not sure why, but I found the smell repulsive – at the very least, it was very difficult to breathe when doing so would bring the sent to my nostrils.

Now, I’m not a huge fan of chicken, but I don’t mind it on occasion, so it’s difficult for me to determine why this occurred, and continues to where the scent of the meal still lingers. It might be that the previous attempt somehow altered my perception of smell, though I doubt that to be the case. It might be that, as the scent was strong enough to go through the entire house and that it was intense enough to wake me caused some part of my brain to associate it with danger, although again this is something I doubt. More likely is the case that <redacted>’s cooking is capable of being weaponised.

In other news, I have been informed that I will be absent from my home from the 5th to the 7th, which would be days three through to five for this attempt. It’s a family thing, unfortunately. This obviously means that my ability to keep these posts going will be somewhat hampered, but perhaps more interestingly will serve as a major test regarding how well the Uberman works with fitting in with monophasic sleepers. Nothing good will come of these three days, I’m sure of it.

James.

Tagged

Leave a Reply

