Polyphasic Sleep: Final Thoughts of Attempt One

It’s now been a few days – just short of a week, mayhaps – since I stopped my attempt at polyphasic sleep. I’m back at University now (on campus), and I feel that to attempt to adapt to the schedule now would just be stupid, as I doubt I can afford to essentially miss a week of classes. So, without any further ado, I think a little list of things gleaned from this attempt is somewhat in order. In unintentional teacher-preacher second-person format. Sorry.

  • I’ve said it before, but you really do need to have your immediate community on your side. At least try to get them to understand what you are attempting to do. If that’s impossible, I suggest you do all you can to avoid situations that would bring on arguments – you don’t need that kind of negativity, or feeling of lack of support. Especially from your family.
  • Remember Murphy’s Law. Have a back-up to your alarm clock, because it will fail to wake you. Those earbud headphones you use so to not bother others will fall out of your ears. These things are given. Something will screw up.
  • Somewhat similar, but Don’t lie in bed idly. Don’t think that you’ll just lie, awake, for another ten minutes because it’s so damn cold. You will fall asleep. You will wake up, confused, in six hours time. This might have been one of my greatest problems. Believe me, the night gets cold.
  • If you’re like me and you get distracted when you’re on a computer or you have poor time management skills (again, like me), consider setting an alarm not only for when you should wake up, but when you should go to sleep.
  • If you don’t have an internet connection at night (for whatever reason) make sure you have plenty of television shows and movies ready to go. Otherwise, you will be bored out of your tired little mind.

Now, keep in mind while reading that, that I never really made it to the 48-hour-continuous mark, and hence the above is probably standard knowledge to anyone who has so much as heard the term “Uberman” before. Of course, the main thing I hope to be able to do with these tidbits is apply them to my next attempt, which will be in three or four months, at the end of the Uni semester.

As one of my close relatives has taken to saying, come at me bro, stupidly hot summer nights. Come at me!

Tagged

Leave a Reply

