Random Shenannigans, Iteration Two

I haven’t posted here for a while! Time for a brain dump.

  • Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks! An artist (music). I like them. They recently released another album which I was going to monologue about, but because I lost my train of thought halfway through (due to something like 48 hours passing between two characters) it got dull. It’s good, but not as good as Real Emotional Trash. My brother doesn’t like Stephen Malkmus. Ha! What a silly person. I mean, SM isn’t high AT ALL when he’s writing the lyrics to his songs. No! He’s just in the possession of incredible talent. INCREDIBLE TALENT.
  • Fullerman! Yes! Should be Day 15… Isn’t, because being in bed at 3:45 in the morning and having your alarm go off tends to make you stumble out of bed, turn off the alarm, and then jump back into bed. Which is a shame. Day two will be tomorrow, I swear it. Or today. WHATEVER SEMANTICS HEY DON’T YOU JUDGE ME.
  • I have been writing an adapted implementation of a priority queue, using a heap queue, in Python 3, which is part of a slightly-greater system which has no real need to exist. And I’ve been stuck for the last three days (I think) on what turned out to be a three-character bug. I feel both derpy and also very slightly relieved. Mainly derpy as my code is terrible. TERRIBLE. I BARELY KNOW WHAT A HEAP QUEUE IS but apparently it isn’t terribly important. Why can’t there just be a native, fully-featured implementation of a priority queue, that allows me to search for things and pull things and promote things and urgh. I dun not like complicated wrapper code, mkay. Especially when I’m writing it.
  • MATLAB is ~200 AUD! I know this because I’m going to do an Engineering Design course over the Summer! I don’t like it that the University doesn’t use SAGE or something similar! WHY DOES EVERYTHING HAVE TO BE EXPENSIVE!
Leave a Reply

